
 Application Checklist 
 
______ Apply between 7:45 a.m. and 4 p.m.  

Monday through Friday. To avoid  
distractions, it is requested that only the 
couple is present for the application. 

 
______ Wedding date 

Application cannot be made until the 
ceremony has been scheduled, even if 
the wedding is at the courthouse. 

 
______ Certified birth certificates 

Photocopies, hospital certificates, 
baptismal certificates and state 
notifications of birth registration are not 
acceptable. 

 

_____ Unexpired picture IDs 
Driver’s licenses, state ID cards and 
passports are acceptable. 

 

_____ Proof of residency 
If the picture IDs do not contain the 
current addresses, one applicant will 
need three recently dated bills or other 
official correspondence. Mail addressed 
to a post office box is unacceptable. 

 
_____ Social Security numbers 

Cards are not necessary. 
 
_____ Proof of how last marriages ended 

Signed and dated judgment of divorce 
or legal annulment papers, or certified 
death certificates must be shown. 

 
_____ Ceremony information 

The officiant’s name, address and 
phone number are required, as is the 
wedding location, including the county 
and city, village or town name.  

 
_____ Waiting period  

Application needs to be made one week 
to one month before the wedding. 

_____ Application fee 
The fee is $100 cash, no checks, or 
$103 with a card. After the waiting 
period, the license can be picked up or 
mailed. There is a $3 mailing fee, cash 
only, due at the time of application.  

 

Information Guide 
 
Application:  The couple must apply together. 
Appointments are not necessary. 
 

Age:  Any person who has attained the age of 
18 may marry if otherwise competent. If a 
person is between the ages of 16 and 18, the 
license will be issued only with the written 
consent of parents, guardian or custodian. If the 
parents are divorced, proof must be provided 
showing legal guardianship. If one parent is 
deceased, a certified death certificate is 
necessary.  
 

Residency:  Application must be made in the 
county in which one of the parties has lived for 
at least 30 days. If both parties are residents of 
other states, application must be made in the 
county where the ceremony is to be held. If 
neither person has been a resident of any 
county for 30 days prior to applying, application 
must also be made in the county where the 
ceremony is to be held. 
 

Divorced persons:  A person who is divorced is 
prohibited from marrying until six months after 
the date the divorce was granted. 

Wis. Stat. § 765.03(2):  It is unlawful for any 
person who is or has been a party of an action 
for divorce in any court in this state or elsewhere 
to marry again until six months after judgment of 
divorce is granted, and the marriage of any such 
person solemnized before the expiration of six 
months from the date of the granting of 
judgment of divorce shall be void. 

 

 

Officiants:  Wis. Stat. § 765.16 details who may 
perform marriages. Couples questioning an 
officiant’s authority to marry are encouraged to 
seek legal counsel. There are no officiant 
registration requirements in Wisconsin. 
 
Waiting period:  A six-day waiting period is 
required by law. A waiver may be obtained by 
nonresidents of Wisconsin for an additional fee.  
The license is valid for 30 days after the date of 
issuance and the marriage must be performed 
within that period. 
 

Foreign languages:  If either party does not 
speak or understand English, a third party 
interpreter must be present at the time of 
application. If documents are in another 
language, there must be a certified translation or 
an uninterested party must be present to 
translate.  
 

 

 

Officiant Options 
 

COURTROOM WEDDINGS 
 

Judges 
Gary R. Sharpe ~ (920) 929-3189 {no Fridays} 
Jerome Jaye ~ (920) 924-2479 {some Mondays} 
   

Court Commissioners 
Chelsea Brocker ~ (920) 929-3150 
Meggin McNamara ~ (920) 929-3150 
 

WEDDINGS ELSEWHERE 
     

Judge Jerome Jaye ~ (920) 924-2479 
 

Court Commissioners 
William Buchholz ~ (920) 342-9736 
Scot Mortier ~ (920) 979-1861 
Steven Sorenson ~ (920) 748-2841 
Alexander Ullenberg ~ (920) 924-9878 
Ludwig Wurtz ~ (920) 745-2800 
 



 
Vital Records 

 
How to obtain birth certificates: 
 
If the birth occurred in Wisconsin, contact any 
Register of Deeds in the state. 
 
Register of Deeds 
160 S. Macy Street 
Fond du Lac, WI 54935 
Telephone: (920) 929-3018 
 
If the birth occurred in another state, go to: 
www.cdc.gov/nchs. 
 
How to obtain death certificates: 
 
If the death occurred after Sept. 1, 2013, contact 
any Register of Deeds in the state. If the death 
occurred before that date, contact the Register 
of Deeds in the county of death or go to: 
www.dhfs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords. 
 
If the death occurred in another state, go to:  
www.cdc.gov/nchs. 
 
How to obtain divorce judgments: 
 
If the divorce occurred in Fond du Lac County, 
contact: 
 
Clerk of Courts 
160 S. Macy Street 
Fond du Lac, WI 54935 
Telephone: (920) 929-3038 
 
If the divorce occurred elsewhere in Wisconsin, 
contact the Clerk of Courts in that county or go 
to: www.dhfs.wisconsin.gov/vitalrecords. 
 
If the divorce occurred in another state, go to: 
www.cdc.gov/nchs. 

 
After the Wedding 

 
 Purchase a certified copy of your 

marriage license:  Your license is to be 
filed in the county where you were married 
within three days after the ceremony. If it 
has not been filed, please contact your 
officiant. A certified copy can be purchased 
from any Register of Deeds in the state. 

 
 Change your Social Security card:  Visit 

your local Social Security office to change 
your name free of charge. A step-by-step 
guide is available at www.socialsecurity.gov.  

 
 Change your driver’s license:  Visit the 

Department of Motor Vehicles to get a new 
license.  

 
 Change your voter information:  Update 

your voter registration with your name and 
address changes. This can be done with 
your municipal or county clerk after you’ve 
changed your driver’s license. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The regulations contained in this pamphlet are 
governed by the laws of the state of Wisconsin.  
These regulations are the same statewide. The 
cost of a marriage license and waiver may vary 
from county to county. 
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Marriage License 
Information 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Lisa Freiberg 

Fond du Lac County Clerk 
 

City-County Government Center 
160 S. Macy Street 

Fond du Lac, Wisconsin 
 

(920) 929-3000 
 

 www.fdlco.wi.gov 
 
 

Applications are taken 
Monday through Friday 

7:45 a.m. to 4 p.m. 
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