PARENTING PLAN INSTRUCTIONS
PRINT CLEARLY USING BLUE OR BLACK INK
I. Parenting Plan Proposal (No agreement):  For all divorce actions that have contested custody or placement issues, both parties are required to file a Proposed Parenting Plan with the Court within 60 days after the court waives mediation or the mediator notifies the court that no agreement was reached, per Wisconsin Statute §767.41(1m) or sec. 767.451(6m).  If you have an agreement on custody and / or placement issues, please see Part II for further instructions.

a. The Proposed Parenting Plan is a document that you complete on your own.  

b. Choose the Purple cover page and tear off the Green page.

c. Complete the entire parenting plan, and follow these directions to file your proposal: *
· Make sure you have your Case Number and Your Name on the proposal.

· Make at least two copies of your proposal for your records before you file it. One copy is for your records, and the second copy must be provided to the other parent. Make additional copies, if needed, for your attorney or pro se professional.

· Hand deliver or Mail the original document (not a copy) to the Clerk of Courts office, located on the second floor of the City / County Government Center (160 S. Macy Street, Fond du Lac, WI  54935). Mail a certified copy of your Parenting Plan Proposal to the other parent. 
· The deadline for filing your proposal is within 60 days after the court waives mediation or the mediator notifies the court that no agreement was reached, per Wisconsin Statute §767.41(1m).  
· The Clerk of Courts will charge $1.25 per page if you request to have copies made after you file the proposal.
II. Parenting Plan Agreement:  You will need to complete a Parenting Plan Agreement form to finalize your agreement with the other parent.
a. The Parenting Plan Agreement is a document you complete with the other parent because you have an agreement regarding the custody and placement of your children.

b. Choose the Green cover page and tear off the Purple page.

c. Complete the entire parenting plan, and follow these directions to file your agreement:*
· Make sure you have your Case Number and Your Names on the agreement.  Both parents must sign the Green cover page and initial all white pages in the designated area (bottom left corner). 
· Make Copies to bring to the Family Court Commissioner.  You should make a copy for each parent, each parent’s attorney and the Family Court Commissioner (3 to 5 copies and 1 Original).  

· Hand deliver or Mail the original document and the copies to the Family Court Commissioner office, located on the second floor of the City / County Government Center (160 S. Macy Street, Fond du Lac, WI  54935).  

· If approved, the Family Court Commissioner will sign your agreement, file the original, and leave the copies for you to pick up and disperse accordingly.  If the Family Court Commissioner does not sign your agreement, it is not a formal court order.
Note:  If you are working with an attorney, you may give the attorney your proposal or agreement, and the attorney can file it for you.

* If your divorce is in another county or state, file the parenting plan in the county having jurisdiction.

