Criteria* for Issuance of Silver Alert

Is the missing person
60 years of age or older?

Is the missing person believed to
have Alzheimer’s, dementia, or
other permanent cognitive
impairment which poses a threat
to their health and safety?

Is there reasonable belief
that the missing person’s
disappearance is due to
their impaired cognitive
condition?

Is the Silver Alert request
within 72 hours of the
individual's disappearance?

Is there sufficient

information available to
disseminate to the public that
could assist in locating the
missing person?

i any of these are not present, a Missing/Endangered alert
may be issued via the WI Crime Alert Network.

Contact Information

Wisconsin Department of Justice
Division of Criminal Investigation
Wisconsin Statewide Information Center
Risser Justice Center
17 West Main Street
PO Box 7857
Madison, WI 53707-7857
608-245-8952
wsic@doj.state.wi.us

wisconsin’s




If your loved one is missing

Immediately call 911. Your local law
enforcement agency will respond to your
location and subsequently notify the

Department of Justice if the criteria for a
Silver Alert is met.

Silver Alert Resources

The following distribution channels are
available for Silver Alert Broadcasts.

Wisconsin Crime Alert

Subscribers (includes media)

State Lottery Terminals

Department of Transportation

Dynamic Messaging Signs

Digital Advertising Billboards

A special Thank You

Claire and Leo Baeb became lost while driving in
June 2013 and drove around the state for over 24
hours. The Baeb family’s experience and

NNINS

subsequent advocacy led to the creation of the
Silver Alert in Wisconsin and will undoubtedly
save lives of others in the future.

We hope that no family is ever in the situation to need our help.

Unfortunately, we know that many will be.

If your family member is at risk of becoming lost, the best thing to do is be prepared.

Have a clear photo of your loved one stored in a digital file so it can be transmitted to law
enforcement quickly if need be.

If you are concerned about your loved one’s ability to safely operate a vehicle, you can
submit a Driver Condition or Behavior Report (MV3141) to the WI Department of
Transportation at www.dot.state.wi.us. This will begin a process by which the DOT will
assess your loved one’s driving ability. You can also engage the help of your family
member’s doctor when filling out this form.

Know your loved one’s vehicle details, license plate and any unique descriptors. Keep a
photo of the vehicle and any identifying features of it. Even if they no longer have a license
and/or keys are kept out of view, it is best to be prepared if your family member becomes
lost while in a vehicle.

Encourage personalized plates, a unique bumper sticker or window cling on your loved
one’s vehicle. This will make the vehicle more noticeable.

Utilize local resources such as the local chapter of the Alzheimer's Association at
www.alz.org, Aging and Disability Resource Center (a bureau of the WI Dept. of Health
Services) at www.dhs.wisconsin.gov, or Alzheimer’'s and Dementia Alliance of Wisconsin at
www.alzwisc.org for information on wandering triggers and prevention tips.

Contact your local law enforcement agency to determine whether they endorse and are
trained in a tracking device program. Some Wisconsin communities also maintain their own
registry of elderly residents who are at risk of becoming lost.

Sign up at wisconsincrimealert.gov to receive alerts from the Wisconsin Crime Network,
which include Silver Alerts and Amber Alerts. You may be the person who finds someone
else’s lost family member.

Be Prepared




